Catléia Shoes

I have to say I don’t like brown shoes. I may even go as far as to say I hate wearing brown shoes. But I recently had the chance to wear a pair of vintage brown shoes that were so beautiful that they almost changed my opinion of brown shoes. They were a pair of brown leather shoes made in Brazil, from the label Catléia.

Beautiful brown leather shoes by Catléia.

Beautiful brown vintage leather shoes by Catléia, made in Brazil.

I can’t find much information about Catléia shoes, so if anyone can shed any light on them, I would be most grateful. Catléia was a label from Brazil. I say was because I think this label went bust in December 1997. The only information I could find on Catléia is an address in Campo Bom, which is in the Southern Brazilian state of Rio Grande do Sul, near the border with Uruguay.

I have read that leather from Latin America is one of the best in the world. From my very limited experience of leather products from this region, I have to agree. The Brazilian-made Catléia shoes I wore were of good quality with beautiful and detailed leatherwork on them.

Side view of the Catléia shoes that Shih Yen wore.

Side view of the Catléia shoes that Shih Yen wore.

I don’t think it’s possible to get Catléia shoes anymore. As a brand, they existed between the late 1960s and late 1990s. So, it seems that all the Catléia shoes in existence are now vintage. I can’t estimate the age of the Catléia shoes that I wore. If I had to guess, I would say between 20 – 30 years old. This attests to the quality of Catléia shoes that they have lasted so well for decades.

5 thoughts on “Catléia Shoes

  1. I found a pair a navy blue western boots with the label Catleia. They’re in excellent condition and the leather is nice quality. Can’t believe I got them for $3 at a thrift store. They’re super cute! Was checking on line to look at the brand. Thanks for your info. Kelley

  2. Hi just bought a pair of below the knee catleia boots from a thrift shop in canberra australia. I was trying to research the label on web and came across your post. They’re tan leather and a really nice retro style, great quality. I’m just about to get them polished up as there are a few little Marks on them, but apart from that they’re excellent.

Leave a Reply

