Light-up LED shoelaces

There are some things that work better in theory than in real life, and shoelaces that light up definitely fit into the former. Solange wears similar shoelaces in her music video ‘Lovers in the parking lot’. When I saw these novelty shoelaces, I thought I would give them a try. These battery-powered shoelaces (that’s a phrase I never thought I would use!) have LEDs that light up.

LED shoelaces in the original packaging.

LED shoelaces in the original packaging.

Each shoelace is made up of 2 parts – a long bit of clear plastic for the lace, and the part that lights up, which is powered by a round battery. Both parts should be attached, but my first problem was that the shoelaces didn’t come with any instructions on how to do so. It took me ages to figure out how everything connected up.

With no instructions, it took Shih Yen a long time to figure out how to correctly connect up the LED shoelaces.

With no instructions, it took Shih Yen a long time to figure out how to correctly connect up the LED shoelaces.

After a long time, I finally managed to get everything connected correctly and working. It felt like I was wearing disco lights on my feet. The lights changed colour and flashed. This brings me to the second problem: I don’t know when or where anyone would wear these shoelaces, other than maybe being in a Solange music video. I can’t think of a single occasion where someone would want to wear disco lights on their shoes. At first, I thought maybe it’s appropriate to wear clubbing, but then clubs already have flashing lights anyway, so lights on shoelaces would go unnoticed. The only benefit I can think of for wearing these shoelaces is if you wear them in pitch darkness. The flashing lights would light the way for you.

Don't have a torch? These LED shoelaces light the way for you in complete darkness.

Don’t have a torch? These LED shoelaces light the way for you in complete darkness.

The packaging claims that these shoelaces are waterproof and washable. I have my doubts about this claim, given that there are electronics (LEDs and batteries) in the laces. I certainly wouldn’t wear this out in a thunderstorm. Actually, I think I wouldn’t wear these light-up laces at all.

The LED light-up shoelaces in low light.

The LED light-up shoelaces in low light.

Leave a Reply

