shihyenshoes – a look back, and Terry Poe – Malaysian shoe designer Part 2

I started writing this shoe blog almost 3 years ago. On 1 December 2014, the shihyenshoes blog celebrates her 3rd birthday. Who knew so much could be written about shoes? At the time when I started the blog, I felt like I had a lot of things to say about shoes. That was why I started the blog. I decided on monthly updates for the blog because I thought that was a reasonable time frame that I could stick to without feeling over-committed. And now, 3 years later, and I’m still writing about shoes. I never thought that the blog would go on for as long as it has.

Many things have surprised me about writing a blog. For me, it was just writing about stuff that I was interested in. I thought the content would be too niche to be of interest to many people. I thought that the only people who would read my blog would be my friends and family, but the number of readers from all over the world has surprised me.

Writing is a solitary endeavour, and I am used to that. Writers tend to just write alone by themselves. Interacting with people as a result of my blog surprised me. Strangers from around the world might comment on my blog and that always surprised me.

The most surprising thing for me has been when a shoe designer got in touch with me as a result of my blog. Back in September, after I wrote about Terry Poe, a Malaysian shoe designer, he got in touch with me. That was a very exciting and pleasant surprise. So, this month I’m featuring more shoe designs by Terry Poe. All the photos have been provided by Terry Poe himself.

Personally, I like Terry Poe’s chocolate bar Japanese sandal. This was an early design of his and featured a sandal in the shape of a block of chocolate with thongs in the shape of a banana peel. Terry Poe has supplied the concept drawings and photo of the finished product.

choc sandal concept

Terry Poe chocolate bar sandal – the concept.

Terry Poe chocolate bar sandal - the reality.

Terry Poe chocolate bar sandal – the reality.

Terry Poe designs shoes for both men and women. In 2009, this man’s sandal with a gothic theme won 1st runner-up in the Malaysia Footwear Design Competition.

terrypoe sandal

This sandal by Terry Poe won 1st runner up in a Malaysian footwear design competition.

Finally, these wedge heels, inspired by a monarch butterfly are considered by Terry Poe to be his best work so far. There is only one pair of these butterfly wedges in existence, having been specially requested by a client of Terry Poe for use in an advertising photo shoot.

terry poe1

Side view of butterfly slingback wedge heels by Terry Poe.

Writing a blog for me has been fun, and I hope there will be more pleasant surprises to come.

Leave a Reply

