Shoe boxes and charity

Is it bad that the only reason why I’ve heard of some charities is because they mention the word ‘shoes’? For instance, Camp Quality is a charity that helps children with cancer in Australia and New Zealand. The only reason I know about this charity is because their fund raising day is called Odd Shoe Day. On this day, people are encouraged to wear odd or mismatched shoes and make a donation to that charity.

Recently, I heard about Operation Christmas Child for the first time, and the only reason it got my attention was because of the word ‘shoe box.’ The idea is to fill a shoe box full of gifts for a child. Somehow this concept really appealed to me because I think a shoe box is just the perfect size to store treasures.

Since 1993, this charity has given more than 100 million shoe boxes of gifts to children in 130 countries. In the Australia and New Zealand region this year, the focus will be on children in Samoa.

The first shoe box that I packed using my own shoe box.

The first shoe box that I packed using my own bigger shoe box.

The contents of my first shoe box, which had a Hello Kitty theme.

The contents of my first shoe box, which had a Hello Kitty theme.

I really enjoyed filling my shoe boxes with gifts, and decorating the shoe boxes. For some reason, I found it very fun and appealing. I filled my shoe boxes with gifts that I would have loved to receive if I was a child. My first 2 boxes had a Hello Kitty theme to them.

The second shoebox that I packed also had a Hello Kitty theme.

The second shoe box that I packed also had a Hello Kitty theme.

The contents of my 2nd shoebox, using a (smaller) box provided by the charity.

The contents of my 2nd shoe box, using a (smaller) box provided by the charity.

The first box I filled, I used an old shoe box of mine. The charity also provides pre-printed shoe boxes, and when I used the shoe boxes provided by the charity, I found that their shoe boxes were very small. It was as if when they said ‘shoe box’, they meant a box for children’s shoes, not like my shoe box which fits adult size 10 sneakers. But using their smaller boxes meant that I could pack more boxes.

Shoe box #3 was for an older child and had a purple theme.

My 3rd shoe box was for an older child and had a purple theme, both inside and out.

This Christmas, I hope that somewhere in the South Pacific, maybe in Samoa, my shoe boxes will bring lots of joy and happiness to a few children. At this time of year, I take the opportunity to wish all the readers a Merry Christmas from shihyenshoes. Thank you for all your support and I’ll see you in the new year.

My 4th shoe box was full of Happy Meal toys.

My 4th shoe box was full of Happy Meal toys.

3 thoughts on “Shoe boxes and charity

  1. Pingback: Share your love in a shoe box | littlegirlstory

Leave a Reply

